baby sleep update

Reading dabrota‘s sleep adventures reminded me that I haven’t posted on Ben’s sleep habits in a while. He’s been waking up a lot more lately because he’s been sick, but still no more than once or twice a night. And while I broke the night-weaning habits while he was sick and I was in Victoria, we resumed them when I got home last weekend. Ben was getting a bottle of water when he woke up in the middle of the night, for his cough, but no actual food, so he would adapt back to sleeping through the night without expecting a snack.

Last night, Ben went to sleep at 7:30pm, and woke up a little after midnight. I went in to soothe him. I wanted to send Paul, who doesn’t smell like food to Ben, but Paul now has the cold that Ben and I are just getting rid of. Of course, Ben immediately lunged for my boobs when I picked him up. I put him on my shoulder and tried to calm him down, but it wasn’t working – he kept looking up and around and complaining. So I had to put him back in his crib, rub his little back for a minute or two while murmuring to him, and then leave him to cry it out. He yelled for less than ten minutes and then went to sleep. And then he woke up at 6am positively beaming at us.

I have hope that Ben will start sleeping through the night, 7:30pm to 6am, this week. I can’t wait for this to happen.

Leave a Reply

