best. celebrity. sighting. ever.

Tonight. James’ Beach in Venice. I’m out with vendors. Adam Sandler is having dinner across the room.

There are very few celebrities I respect enough to go up and talk to, but I waited until he was standing around outside, and then I HAD to say…”thank you for making being Jewish cool.”

He laughed. I made Adam Sandler laugh – or, at least, chuckle.

Anyways. That’s definitely the best Los Angeles celebrity sighting so far. Better even than Viggo Mortensen at a Rite Aid in Venice a year ago.

My sister will just die when she hears this.

But seriously, celebrities are part of the background here. I mean, there was Industry in Vancouver, but it was a quaint outpost of Hollywood. L.A. is the real thing. Ben Affleck shops at my Whole Foods; WB stars live in Venice, guy movie stars work out at my gym. You zone it out. I try to forget, that I am living in the epicenter of something as absolutely worthless and idiotic as American pop culture.

Still? Adam Sandler was really nice. THAT was cool. Adam Sandler and the Beastie Boys have done more for being Jewish than any other popular culture figures. And MY juvenile sense of humour thinks that “Happy Gilmore” and “Mr Deeds” were absolfuckinglutely hilarious. I didn’t say that, just introduced myself, said my line, walked off to let the man alone – but still, it was weird, having a voice I’ve heard so much, in movies and the Hanukkah song and countless SNL sketches saying, “what’s up, Jillian?”

Rare occasion when I’ll get psyched over a celeb. Then again – I didn’t come here for Hollywood. I came here to work. Los Angeles is just an American city to me, not the source of all things famous, and this episode is definitely one of the things that reminds me – to some people, this is the end all.

PS. He’s shorter in person. My height – 5’10. I always expected him to be over 6 foot.

7 responses to “best. celebrity. sighting. ever.

Leave a Reply

