the seated woman with the parasol

Tori Amos has an absolute gift for opening tracks on her CDs.

Little Earthquakes had “Crucify”, which was the single, but a powerful track in its own right.

Under the Pink has “Pretty Good Year”, which is deceptively pretty and only splits to show desperation in the middle of the song.

Boys for Pele had “Beauty Queen/Horses”, a dual track that quietly and built up the eccentricity and quiet insanity of the album.

Tales from the Choirgirl Hotel had “Spark”, a track that is just on the black side of crazy. But then that whole album is, for me, a bit too much like dancing on the precipice of lunacy.

Scarlet’s Walk had “Amber Waves”, which was just such a perfect track for 2002 when it came out. And it set the tone for a very different album than the last two that came out.

The Beekeper has “Parasol”, which starts melancholy, and becomes more peaceful as it goes into the rest of the CD. And it’s just an absolutely gorgeous track. I adore it.


When I come to terms to terms with this
When I come to terms with this
When I come to terms to terms with this
My world will change for me
I haven’t moved since the call came
Since the call came I haven’t moved
I stare at the wall knowing on the other side
The storm that waits for me

Then the Seated Woman with a Parasol
May be the only one you can’t betray
If I’m the Seated Woman with a Parasol
I will be safe in my frame

I have no need for a sea view
For a sea view I have no need
I have my little pleasures
This wall being one of these

When I come to terms to terms with this
When I come to terms with this
When I come to terms with this whip lash
of silk on wool embroidery

Then the Seated Woman with a Parasol
May be the only one you can’t betray
If I’m the Seated Woman with a Parasol
I will be safe in my frame
I will be safe
In my frame
In your house
In your frame

One response to “the seated woman with the parasol

Leave a Reply

