eight months in…

Eight months here and I still feel a thrill every time I see the sign on I-10 that says “Los Angeles”. I’m so in love with the city that I can get an adrenaline jolt just going into it.

It’s good to be home. Until last night, I hadn’t left West L.A. since getting back from New Orleans on Monday night. West L.A. is my home, but it’s insular, it’s not that different from Kitsilano or suburban Seattle, quiet postwar streets with Venice on one side.

Going into Los Angeles – that’s different. Knowing there’s a whole city out there, with millions of people and hundreds of Things To Do, at any given time, just thrills me every time.

I got my new issue of “Los Angeles” magazine today. I realize, more and more each day, that the publications I read (LA Weekly, etc) really do apply to me. They’re not just something I read in an abstract fashion, as I pass through the city, trying to get a glimpse of what it’s like to live here. Articles about L.A. city government apply to me now. I am a citizen of La Ciudad. This is my home.

So now I’m home, after a night out in Hollywood. Nothing terribly high-end – just hanging out with friends at the Cat & Fiddle on Sunset, the British ex-pat -slash- music scene hangout that I found myself at a few times this summer. Trouble is, the bar’s big appeal is its courtyard…and it is cold for Los Angeles out there!

Therefore, my girlfriends determined it was time to move on to Jones in West Hollywood. This is the bar where That Guy From Sex & The City (the guy who was Aidan, whose name I can’t recall and am too lazy to look up) has been known to hang out. He was not there. Other guys were. None were interesting enough to hold my alcohol-saturated attention. It was just good to be out with my friends on a Saturday, in the city.

“I love Los Angeles,” I said in the car, enroute between bars. “I just hate L.A.”

But because I’m going to go curl up with a copy of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, and don’t want to dwell on the negative, I’m going to leave it there. Tonight, I was just happy to be out in my City. Tonight., I was just happy to be in a city where there are a million things to do, places to go, ways to remind myself, constantly, nothing in this city has to be ordinary or average unless I choose for it to be.

And in that respect, at least, this city suits me well.

One response to “eight months in…

Leave a Reply

